Care for the Care Giver


Asleep, I listen.

A meditation for Care Givers

By

The Rev. Nigel W D Mumford

Asleep I listen,

To the breathing, to every precious breath,

To any change, to a groan, to the pain, to the fear,

I listen to the fear, in me, and in my beloved.

Asleep I listen,

To any need and want, my body asleep but my ears open,

The constant vigil, ready at a moments notice

To leap out of bed to address the need.

Asleep I listen,

To the phone, to the TV, to the radio, to God.

I pray and wonder what will happen?

Am I doing my best, what else can I do?

Asleep I listen,

Even when awake guilt pervades my mind.

How can I even go to the store, how can I leave the house?

I listen to the cell phone, did it beep, is it vibrating?

Asleep I listen,

To My faults, to My responsibility, to My blame.

What if? If only! But Why God, WHY?

I can’t I even pray anymore I am so tired.

Asleep I listen,

My mind wonders what will it be like afterwards?

What will I do? Where will I go? How will I live?

Oh NO it’s not about me, guilt pervades again.

Asleep I listen,

A friend calls and asks me out for a coffee.

“I will call you back, if there is a change.”

I wonder, can I really step out of the house?

Asleep I listen,

To God,

Who says “Well done good and faithful servant.”

Do not be afraid, I am with you always.

Asleep I listen to my conscience and all is well with my soul.

May the healing Grace of the Lord be with you,
Fr. Nigel Mumford+

http://www.byhiswoundsministry.org

About Fr. Nigel

Fr. Mumford is a husband, priest, author (four books) and public speaker with a focus on the healing ministry of Jesus. He is a former Royal Marine Commando Drill Instructor. He was called to this ministry in 1990 and was ordained 2005. He is the president of By His Wounds Inc. A not for profit ministry helping war zone veterans heal with The Welcome Home Initiative. For more info please go to www.byhiswoundsministry.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.